Skip to content
July 9, 2010 / Robyn Swirling

The only reason I like Sharron Angle

Sharron Angle is a Republican former Nevada Assemblywoman who is currently running against Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid. Her views run pretty much exactly opposite to mine:

  • repeal “Obamacare”
  • continue offshore oil drilling, despite the current ongoing disaster from the BP spill
  • make the Bush taxcuts permanent
  • she worked to pass Nevada’s Constitutional Protection of Marriage Act, which defines marriage as between one man and one woman only
  • get rid of the UN, partially because it is an “umpire of fraudulent science such as global warming”
  • she believes the unemployed are “spoiled” and lazy, and it isn’t a Senator’s job to work toward job creation

But there is one issue where I appreciate Sharron Angle’s stance: abortion.  According to her website, “Sharron Angle believes all human life is precious, regardless of location, age, infirmity, or degree of dependence.” That’s not the part I appreciate though – I am firmly pro-choice and really dislike people like Angle who would work to legislatively deny me autonomy over my own body and reproduction.

Angle, however, believes that there should be no exception for women who become pregnant as a result of rape or incest, and this is, strangely enough, the one viewpoint for which I admire her. If abortion is tantamount to murder, then why do most “pro-life” (anti-choice) people believe that it is ok to terminate a pregnancy in cases of rape or incest? Allowing for that exception brings to light the total hypocrisy of the anti-choice movement. If, in fact, you believe that a fetus is subject to all the protections of human life, then there should be no circumstance under which abortion is allowed, except possibly for the protection of the life of the mother. Those who allow abortion in cases of rape or incest don’t truly care about preventing “murder of the unborn,” they care about punishing women for having sex.

Unfortunately (or fortunately, since I obviously don’t want her to get elected), Angle has worded her opinion on this matter rather poorly. She said that “two wrongs don’t make a right” and that women and girls who become pregnant from rape or incest should “turn lemon situation[s] into lemonade.” She has been widely ridiculed for having phrased it this way, and it is obviously an insensitive remark in light of the seriousness of the “lemon situation” to which she is referring.

But despite the fact that I find her and her views odious for oh so many reasons, I’m actually slightly ok with Sharron Angle’s stance on abortion. At least she’s consistent.

Sharron Angle’s Advice for Rape Victims Considering Abortion: Turn Lemons Into Lemonade [Huffington Post]

Angle: Unemployed are “Spoiled”; It’s not my job to fight for Nevadans’ jobs [YouTube]

Reid, in Fistfight, Could Take More Punches From Climate Bill [NY Times]

Sharron Angle’s Official Website

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Eunice / Jul 9 2010 4:05 pm

    I hate her wording too, but the way you explain it makes a lot more sense to me. It’s the first explanation of this I’ve seen that I agree with.

    I love this politics idea, by the way, and would love to help!

  2. NefariousNewt / Jul 9 2010 5:15 pm

    I don’t care how you explain it; her stance is hypocritical, being that she’s of the party that wants to get government off our backs, but is just fine to let government tell a woman how she may use her uterus. The hackneyed “lemons to lemonade” cliché is proof that she cares very little about life, as she would put the life of an unborn fetus above the life of the mother. I blogged about it yesterday, I was so upset. I know Harry Reid is not popular right now, but I can only hope he runs her into the ground.

    • VirtuousVixen / Jul 9 2010 6:32 pm

      Oh I completely agree on that point, Newt. Anyone who wants to make abortion illegal and is a Republican is obviously a hypocrite in that regard. I just appreciate the consistency where at least she’s against abortion all the time. All I meant is that it highlights how little the rest of them care about the child’s life in actuality if they’re willing to allow a “child” to be murdered in certain instances. I just wanted to point out that clearly for most being “pro-life” is about punishing a woman for having sex.

  3. Goodbye_Kitty / Jul 9 2010 8:48 pm

    Is she also opposed to war, and the death penalty? If so, then she is truly consistent.

Leave a Reply

